It’s been so long since I’ve written anything that I’m not really sure where to start.  I’ve recently gained a few followers and I wonder what prompted that…  something I said, somewhere, someone found interesting.  So I thank all of you who have read or do read my blog!

I’ve been listening to some self-help audio books.  The most recent one was on habits, changing old and developing new habits.  I would like to make better use of my time so I’ve been putting a lot of thought into what I do and why.  For example, I’m late for work everyday.  I get so anxious when the clock strikes 7 am and I’m still on the expressway.  But by 7 am I have already been awake for two and a half hours so what have I been doing?

It takes me an hour and 15 minutes to get to work.  So I must leave the house by 5:45.  My alarm goes off at 4:30.  I needed to evaluate the habits I developed in those 75 minutes.  It takes about 30 minutes to “get ready” (I’m not one for hair and make-up) and 15 minutes to make breakfast and lunch.  That leaves 30 minutes.  

When the alarm goes off at 4:30, I hit snooze and snuggle with Liezel for 10 minutes.  I then get up, let Liezel out, make coffee, wash pet bowls, and feed Liezel.  Here’s where the habit that makes me late comes into play:  I get my coffee and sit on the couch reading until 5:15 (sometimes 5:20).  That only gives me ~30 minutes to do 45 minutes of work.  

What is needed is a new habit for the “couch time.”  I must develop a new habit of coffee/couch time that ends at 5:00.  I tried this on Friday.  At 5:00 I said to myself, “it’s time…get up” but I continued sitting, sipping, and reading until 5:25!  Self sabotage!  I knew I’d be late.  I knew I’d be stressed out on the expressway.  Yet I continued to watch the minutes tick away.  

Next week, I’m going to sit in a less comfortable chair with my coffee and at 5:00, I will imagine the reward of this new habit – walking in to work with my head up, instead of slinking in hoping no one notices I’m late.

There are other habits I can certainly change for the good.  I’m just going to do one at a time. 🙂

