I just came in from a walk with Liezel and it was awesome!  There were a lot of goings on in the neighborhood and Liezel’s only reaction was raised hackles..and taking treats too roughly.  But these situations are instances where I do not force gentle treat taking.

Here is what we saw; followed by Liezel’s reaction; and my action:

  • Woman running with stroller on the opposite side of the street; raised hackles, rough treat taking; but praised and rewarded for looking back to me
  • Van drove past us and then parked on the side of the road we were walking on; hackles up, staring in the direction of the van; she was told to take food gently and while not great, it was better than it could have been
  • Truck drove past us, parked on our side and a man got out of the truck.  The man walked across our path into a driveway, got in a car, and pulled out; posturing, staring; mild corrections got her focus back on me and she was told gentle for treats, again good not great
  • Neighbor outside who had conversed with man (above); mild interest, no hackles; treated for heeling with focus on me
  • Recycling truck with driver outside; mild interest, hackles raised; heel position to cross the street, including her in a sit when I stopped for traffic, praised and released once we crossed
  • Yard sale, ladder on sidewalk, man testing lawnmower, woman walking around; focus on the man, hackles up, tried to turn back toward yard sale after we passed; we heeled into the street (ladder was in our path), praised and rewarded every time she looked back to me, encouraging “c’mon Liezel” when she attempted to turn around
  • Woman and child coming toward us on bicycles, woman said “What a pretty baby” of Liezel; I thanked her and continued walking.  To be honest, I didn’t focus as much on Liezel here because I didn’t know how she would react 1) to the child and 2) to the bicycles so close to us.  I didn’t have to correct her, so she must have been pretty good.

We moved back on to the sidewalk, I released her from heel and we finished the walk without issue.  She received lots of praise and I felt absolutely giddy with pride at her ability to encounter all of that without barking and / or lunging.

An outing like this is one that leaves me feeling “high on life.” You know the feeling – like nothing in the world could made you feel badly.  That feeling alone is worth all the training!

 

 

 

 

