While getting ready for work this morning I remembered that all of my audio books on OverDrive were expired.  After reading excerpts of a couple books, I chose one and attempted to download it.  My only option was “Add to your waiting list.” In other words, not currently available.  Frustrating.

I changed the search criteria to include “Available now” and after scrolling through a few I found “The Grownup” by Gillian Flynn.  The short description read, “A canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud. On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms when Susan Burke walks in. A keen observer of human behavior, our unnamed narrator immediately diagnoses beautiful, rich Susan as an unhappy woman eager to give her lovely life a drama injection. However, when the psychic visits the eerie Victorian home that has been the source of Susan’s terror and grief, she realizes she may not have to pretend to believe in ghosts anymore. Miles, Susan’s teenage stepson, doesn’t help matters with his disturbing manner and grisly imagination. The three are soon locked in a chilling battle to discover where the evil truly lurks and what, if anything, can be done to escape it. ”

While I’m not in to ghost stories nor do I believe in spiritual readers, I was running out of time and just needed to download something to listen to on the way to work.  It downloaded pretty quickly, so with that done I finished getting ready and got in my car.

The ride to work (75 minutes) went by quickly because the book was really good.  I dismiss audio books fairly regularly because the reader is bothersome in some way, or the story is dull, or  after a commute I realize I really wasn’t listening; but not this one!  Of this one I thought, “Ah, a good one that will keep me entertained for a few days.”

As I got off the highway there was a pause in the story.  New chapter I guess.  But the reader said “This has been a production of…”  WHAT?!  It’s over?!

It was done.  A short story. No wonder why it downloaded so quickly.

The quest for a new book begins again.

 

 

